Self indulgence through sewing.

It’s Bustle Time!

The next project in preparation for Steamcon was to make myself a bustle. After having such great success with Truly Victorian patterns with my corset, I went to them again for the bustle, using TV101 and their precut bustle wire. This whole bustle went together in about a day and a half, but it would’ve gone much faster if my sewing machine had a ruffleing foot. I think gathering each ruffle was what took me the longest (it was murder on my finger tips, too.) But the result looked great, and you can’t see the hoop wire at all once it’s all under skirts.

The bustle is made to be hemmed a few inches higher than your outer skirts to reduce the likelyhood of stepping on it when going up stairs and the like, but it looks a little silly when worn all alone.  🙂 I was also very pleasantly surprised at how easily the bustle collapses for storage and ease of sitting.

3 responses

  1. Lucy

    Very nice! Do you have any picks of the wire part? How did you attach the wire to the rest of it? You’re making me want to make so many steampunk stuff…

    October 19, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  2. Hmmmmm! I don’t currently have any photos, but that’s not to say I couldn’t take photos sometime and make a new post for you. ;D Huzzah for ideas for content! 🙂

    October 19, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    • Lucy

      Always happy to help 🙂

      October 20, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

