Self indulgence through sewing.

Hey! I’m not dead yet!

You may have noticed it’s been awhile since my last costume posts. Long story short, my husband and I bought a house and I’ve been without a sewing room for almost a year! I’ve been trying to hold back from sewing for as long as possible, but with Steamcon fast approaching in 2 weeks, I couldn’t stop feeling like I needed to make something. Like, staying awake 5 hours past when I go to bed obsessively photoshopping my plans need.

You see, I’ve had this awesome hat for a few years now:

Mysterious Hat

I picked it up two or three years ago at a thrift store in LA that specializes in used movie and theater props (why oh why does LA have to be so far awaaaay?)

I have no clue where this hat came from or what it was used for, but it’s been calling to me to make a costume for it. AND this year’s Steamcon theme is Around The World which means it’s a perfect year to go a little less traditional English Victorian with my costuming, AND Professor Elemental is coming all the way from England and I love Professor Elemental so it simply would not do to not at least put in an effort.

So. With two weeks until Steamcon, I’ve decided to turn our mid-renovation living and dining rooms into a temporary sewing room.

Setting up the "sewing room"

Setting up the “sewing room.” Why yes, that is a table built onto the top of a futon. Small apartments called for creative solutions!

This also means you should start seeing more posts from me over the next two weeks.  🙂  Hurray! Content!

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Posts about our house may slow for a few weeks… | Melinda's House

  2. Pingback: Steamcon 2013 Work In Progress | Melinda's Costumes

  3. I’m loving your “sewing room.” Very ingenious!

    October 22, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    • Ha thanks 😀 It’s now totally covered in fabric and pattern scraps. Poor Stu.

      October 22, 2013 at 2:29 pm

  4. Which thrift store in LA is this????? Inquiring costumers gotta know!

    October 23, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    • Ah! Great question! I had to do a bit of Googleing because it’s been awhile (my friend Claire Hummel, another Steamcon goer btw, was the one who introduced it to me) but I’m pretty sure it’s called “It’s a Wrap” they have a website here: http://www.itsawraphollywood.com/ and it appears they actually have two locations. I’m not sure which one I went to. All of the greater LA area kinda bends together to me. 🙂

      October 23, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

