Self indulgence through sewing.

Steamcon 2013 Make-up test

For some reason I couldn’t bring myself to work on the second set of harem pants today.

Call it costume burnout perhaps. Or maybe I’m just expanding my project to fit the amount of time I have left. Like a hermit crab growing to the size of it’s shell.

I DID go buy the fabric today and it’s sitting for me on my cutting board. Maybe I’ll cut it out before I go to bed.

OR MAYBE I’LL JUST PLAY WITH MAKE-UP!  😀

Steamcon Make-up Test

My face only has one expression, BLUE STEEL.

I’m on the fence about the little white dots?

On the one hand, I love them, and I may never have an excuse to do them if I don’t do them with this costume. On the other hand, they’re totally unjustifiable in a historical context. Moari? Yes. [EDIT: Nope! I was totally wrong! My bad, thanks Ista for letting me know. Maori tattoos are FANTASTIC but nothing like what I’ve got going here. Oops.  🙂 ] African? Sure. China? Russia? Persia? India? ……………ehhhhhmmmmaaaaybeeeee??? ………….Maybe I just wont care because they’re awesome and this is Steampunk? Your thoughts?

This is also the heaviest smokiest cat eye I’ve ever applied. I maybe don’t hate it? Though I think if I’m gonna do it for-reals I need to get myself some cream eyeliner and an angle brush. I used an eyeliner pencil this time around and it’s a little blobby looking.  Is the point at my tear duct too much?

Also, you can just barely see it but I’m wearing the awesome braid extension Jean made me. I love this frickin’ thing.  😀 I want to just wear it around everywhere I go, like I would with various costumes my mom made me when I was 3. But if I did that then it would turn into a terrible ratty braid. So I wont. I’ll leave it alone. For now.

5 responses

  1. I’m loving your costume so far! and wish I could go to Steamcon. BTW if you meant Maori (as in native New Zealander) then white spots aren’t tribal maori (I’m not familiar with moari if it’s from another part of the pacific).

    October 23, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    • Oh! My bad, I thought for sure I’d seen a Pinterest post with something similar but now that I’ve done a google search to confirm I see I’m completely wrong. I’ll go back and edit the post, that’s what I get for hastily late-night posting without checking my sources, thanks a bunch for letting me know! 😀

      October 23, 2013 at 6:54 pm

      • No worries – I’ve seen dark dots in tribal bellydance. 🙂 And it’s great to see a non-anglo steampunk. My first was asia-pacific inspired, a bustle dress from a lobster image pink+navy batik fabric. I figure my ancestors were in the pacific for a couple hundred years so it’d work

        October 24, 2013 at 4:50 am

  2. Looking good! I like the dots, especially with your “eh my balloon has a mind of it’s own?” mentality to your characters “backstory.” Maybe she just likes dots, why you gotta judge? I also think the eyeliner itself. Defines your eyes nicely! Looks a tad Egyptian, though?

    October 24, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    • Yeah I think I went a bit too far with the inner-eye line and it’s skewing it a bit more middle-eastern? Dunno. I haven’t gotten out to the store yet to buy cream eyeliner though so not sure what I’ll do with it tomorrow. Bleh. 🙂

      October 24, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Leave a Reply

